Delegate Peace Focused on Property Rights

Mechanicsville, VA – Delegate Christopher K. Peace (R-Mechanicsville) is working closely with the Commonwealth Alliance for Property Rights, a new coalition of state legislators and organizations concerned about property rights. Peace was recently named a member of the House Courts of Justice Eminent Domain Special Sub-committee. This sub-committee will be looking into eminent domain and potential abuses. The coalition supports eminent domain reform in Virginia, as well as a public awareness campaign of individual property rights in condemnation proceedings.

At a June 28 press conference held a year after the US Supreme Court issued a ruling in the Kelo v. City of New London, Conn. Case, the Commonwealth Alliance for Property Rights outlined the core principles that make up its platform. These principles include prohibiting Kelo-type abuses such as the taking of one person’s private property strictly for economic development; and protecting property owners by recognizing that compensation must be full and just.

The Kelo case set a legal precedent by ruling that Connecticut’s constitution allows local governments and other condemning authorities to take private property for the purpose of developing that land and creating a higher tax base. The coalition and Peace will strive to find solutions to this problematic Supreme Court decision.

The bipartisan group also includes Virginia Farm Bureau Federation, the National Federation of Independent Businesses, the Virginia Agribusiness Council, the Virginia Forest Products Association, the Virginia Property Rights Coalition, and the Woodpecker Road Area Property Rights Association.

Delegate Christopher K. Peace was elected to represent the 97th District of the Virginia House of Delegates on January 24, 2006. The 97th District includes parts of Hanover, Caroline, King William, King and Queen, Henrico, Spotsylvania Counties and all of New Kent County. Peace now sits on the prominent House Courts of Justice, Health Welfare and Institutions, and Science and Technology Committees. ###