Peace Elected Chairman of the Virginia Commission on Youth

Commission Focus on Policies Regarding the Needs of the Commonwealth's Young People Central Virginia - Today, Delegate Christopher K. Peace (R-Hanover) was elected by his colleagues to serve as the Chair of the Virginia Commission on Youth (COY). This position is Peace's first as the leader of a state commission. COY is a standing legislative commission of the General Assembly which, by mandate, provides a legislative forum in which complex issues may be explored and resolved.

Peace statement on being elected Chair, "I look forward to continuing to work with Commission members, staff, advocates and the general public to examine issues which effect the youth of our Commonwealth. As a parent and legislator, I believe in developing sound policies regarding the provision of services to our next generation of leaders and their families. Our success is a critical component for better outcomes."

The Commission was enacted in 1989 and began operations in 1991. The Commission is bipartisan with twelve members (six Delegates, three Senators, and three citizen members). According to the Code of Virginia, the role and function of the Commission is to study and provide recommendations addressing the needs of and services to the Commonwealth's youth and families.

"I look forward to continuing the important work of the Commission on Youth with Delegate Peace as chairman. He will carry on the Commission's bipartisan tradition in providing a legislative forum for issues around youth and families," stated Amy Atkinson, COY Executive Director.

COY monitors the development of laws and policies in federal, state and local governments which impact youth and their families and contribute to the General Assembly's ability to make sound policy decisions based on well-studied and reasoned recommendations.