Delegate Peace meets with newly hired New Kent County Administrator

CENTRAL VA – Today, Delegate Christopher K. Peace (R-Mechanicsville) met with the new county administrator for New Kent County, G. Cabell Lawton, IV. The two discussed many issues of importance to the county including the status of the New Kent County reclaimed water project. Last fall, Peace was delighted to support the county’s efforts in securing funds through the use of Federal stimulus monies. The State Water Control Board and the Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) carefully considered numerous funding requests for construction projects across the Commonwealth to receive federal stimulus dollars through the Virginia Clean Water Revolving Loan Fund. New Kent was awarded $6.7 million for this shovel ready, job creating project. Other issues talked about were the economic impact of Colonial Downs, and future economic development plans for the county. Peace offered Lawton an update on the Virginia Retirement System reforms recently passed by the General Assembly and the effect of the reforms on local government.

At present, New Kent County is largely underserved by public utilities. Most of the utilities infrastructure in the County has been developed privately and turned over to the County for operation. Peace and Lawton discussed the extension of natural gas lines in the area.

“I look forward to working with Mr. Lawton and continuing to work with the Board of Supervisors to meet the needs of New Kent residents,” stated Peace. “New Kent is a vibrant, growing, community which I am honored to represent.”

Lawton was formerly the Fluvanna, Virginia County Administrator, a position he took in 2003. He served as the Fluvanna Assistant County Administrator from 2000 to 2003 and was that community’s Director of Planning before assuming the Assistant Administrator position. He is a graduate of East Carolina University.

Delegate Christopher K. Peace was elected to his third term representing the 97th District of the Virginia House of Delegates. The District includes parts of Hanover, Caroline, King William, King and Queen, Henrico, Spotsylvania Counties and all of New Kent County.