Health Care Freedom Act Passes House

-- Measure Asserts individual's right and power to participate in health care system-- Central Virginia – Delegate Christopher K. Peace (R-Hanover) joined Delegate Bob Marshall (R-Prince William) and Delegate John O’Bannon (R-Henrico) to address the manner that Virginia's General Assembly can best go about resisting health insurance initiatives currently before Congress.

House Bill 722, introduced by Del. Peace was incorporated into House Bill 10 patroned by Del. Marshall.  HB 10, by a vote of 72-26, passed the House.  HB 10 will prevent the federal government from mandating that Virginians enter into a contract with an insurance company against their will, and under penalty of fines and possibly jail time if they don’t comply.

Similar to HB 10, HB 722 presents a declaration of rights for Virginians to elect insurance coverage by providing that a resident of the commonwealth shall not be required to obtain or maintain a policy of individual health insurance coverage.  This applies regardless of whether the person is eligible for health insurance coverage under any policy or program provided by or through his employer or a plan sponsored by the commonwealth or the federal government.  The measure also states that no resident shall be liable for any penalty, assessment, fee, or fine as a result of his failure to procure or obtain health insurance coverage.

Speaking to the bill, Delegate Peace stressed, “Pursuant to the 10th Amendment, Congress’ only duty is to serve citizens under the express powers of the US Constitution.  Forcing citizens to purchase private health insurance violates the agreement between elected representatives and citizens.  As Lincoln asserted in his historical Gettysburg Address, “government is “of, by and for the people.”

Delegate Christopher K. Peace was elected to his third term representing the 97th District of the Virginia House of Delegates. The District includes parts of Hanover, Caroline, King William, King and Queen, Henrico, Spotsylvania Counties and all of New Kent County.