Peace Appointed to Commission on Youth

Delegate Peace to Serve on Youth Centered Commission House Speaker William J. Howell (R-Stafford) recently named Delegate Christopher K. Peace (R-Mechanicsville) to a seat on the Virginia Commission on Youth. The Virginia Commission on Youth is a standing legislative commission of the General Assembly which, by mandate, provides a legislative forum in which complex issues may be explored and resolved.

The Commission was enacted in 1989 and began operations in 1991. The Commission is bipartisan with twelve members (six Delegates, three Senators, and three citizen members). According to the Code of Virginia, the role and function of the Commission is "to study and provide recommendations addressing the needs of and services to the Commonwealth's youth and families."

The Commission monitors the development of laws and policies in federal, state and local governments which impact youth and their families and contribute to the General Assembly's ability to make sound policy decisions based on well-studied and reasoned recommendations.