Peace Receives Rookie of the Year Award from the Virginia Sheriff's Association

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASEAugust 8, 2006 Mechanicsville, VA- Delegate Christopher K. Peace will be honored at the annual conference of the Virginia Sheriff's Association on September 19, 2006 in Williamsburg. The Association represents interests of all Virginia's sheriffs and deputy sheriffs and speaks regularly on public safety issues in the Virginia General Assembly. The Association enjoys 100% membership from all Virginia sheriffs and over 6,500 deputy sheriffs.

During the 2006 General Assembly session, Delegate Peace was a strong supporter of legislation that would have increased the retirement multiplier for state and local public safety officers. "Although the bill did not pass this year, nor was it included in the budget, I want the law enforcement community to know that I will continue the fight in future sessions. It is important to me that the state maintains its commitment to law enforcement and enhance the retirement benefits of such committed public servants," stated Peace.

The Association is using this opportunity to recognize Delegate Peace for his support of law enforcement in Virginia as a new member of the Virginia House of Delegates. The award will be presented during the membership meeting by all of the sheriffs in the 97th district and by the executive director of the Virginia Sheriff's Association.

Delegate Peace is being singled out and awarded the first time ever Rookie of the Year Award by the Virginia Sheriff's Association for his persistence and efforts to improve the working conditions of Virginia's hard working deputy sheriffs, according to John W. Jones, Executive Director, Virginia Sheriff's Association.

Delegate Christopher K. Peace was elected to serve in the Virginia House of Delegates on January 24, 2006 in a Special Election. As the representative for the 97th District, Delegate Peace serves parts of Hanover, Caroline, King William, King and Queen, Henrico, Spotsylvania Counties and all of New Kent County. Peace now sits on the prominent House Courts of Justice, Health Welfare and Institutions, and Science and Technology Committees.